top of page
  • Writer's pictureWatson

Power Snack 1: Kale Chips



Words cannot describe how we looooooooooooooooooove kale chips!

What amazes me is how expensive kale chips are. They come in such small packs that they are usually gone before I even make it to any crumbs (Alert! Snack monsters in the house!).

What also amazes me is how easy and inexpensive it is to make them at home! Believe me I finally got my fair share of kale chips after making them myself, since now we can produce a good amount of kale chips at a fair price.


Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch (~half pound) kale, the curly type, green or purple

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, or any seasonings you like


Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 265 degree F;

  2. Wash the kale and spin dry, tear off the leaves along the stems into small pieces around 2 inches big; save the stems for other uses such as making vegetable stock;

  3. Prepare two 11x15 inch baking sheets, drizzle 1 tablespoon oil in each baking sheet, lay the kale leaves evenly in each baking sheet in one layer, then drizzle another 1 tablespoon olive oil evenly on the kale leaves;

  4. Bake the kale for 20 minutes, after that check every 5 minutes to see if it has turned dry and crispy; flip the soft leaves and continue to bake them; transfer the crispy ones to a serving plate; in my case, it usually takes 30 to 35 minutes to bake everything dry and crispy;

  5. Season the kale chips while they are hot, let it cool down, and enjoy!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page